IAESTE
Germany
flags in front of a building
IAESTE Germany is part of the German Academic Exchange Service
Th, 15/Oct/2015

DAAD Text logo

IAESTE Germany is funded by the Federal Foreign Office
Th, 15/Oct/2015

Federal Foreign Office logo

Generals notes for Employers

What is IAESTE?

The International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience, short IAESTE, is an international, non-political and independent organization which arranges internships abroad. It was founded in 1948 at the Imperial College of London to contribute to and promote international understanding and goodwill amongst people. Since then IAESTE has been working successfully with different organizations of the UN, e.g. with the UNESCO, ECOSOC and UNIDO.

The German Federal Republic is a member of the organization since 1950 and is represented by the German National Committee of IAESTE in the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). IAESTE is supported financially by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and The Federal Foreign Office. The IAESTE trainee exchange is approved by the Federal Employment Agency.

Since its foundation, IAESTE has organized over 350,000 internships worldwide in over 85 countries, among them 50.000 in Germany alone. In 2013 about 700 German employers participated in the IAESTE internship exchange. The main focus is on internships in engineering, sciences, agriculture and forestry. With its worldwide exchange program, IAESTE provides students an opportunity to gather international work experience.

The IAESTE internships are meant to provide an opportunity for foreign trainees to expand and to deepen the skills attained during their basic studies in the fields of industry, research or administration, according to the requirements of their future profession.

You, as an employer, have the opportunity to receive a benefit for you company through promoting

  • new ideas
  • the current expert knowledge of the students
  • the intercultural exchange.

How does the trainee exchange work with IAESTE?

If a company or an organization decides to participate in the trainee exchange, IAESTE requires your desired profile of requuirements: expected qualification(s), assignment for the intern, begin and length of the internship and some other details.

The received internship offers are collected in all countries taking part in the IAESTE program and bi-laterally exchanged. In return for every traineeship offer by a German company, IAESTE Germany receives a traineeship offer for a German student, who wishes to do an internship abroad. In this way every participating country receives internship offers from abroad which can be offered to highly motivated and skilled students.

After your internship offer is exchanged with an IAESTE partner country, IAESTE will search for a suitable candidate from this country, taking into account your desired profile of qualifications. IAESTE Germany will forward you the candidate's application as soon as we recieve it. It is up you to decide about the acceptance of the candidate. If accepted, the foreign student receives the employer's acceptance note through the DAAD. The student accepts the internship offer by signing the acceptance confirmation.

You as an employer will be relieved from all further organizational obligations (visa, work permit, insurance, accommodation, care etc.) IAESTE carries out the necessary organizational expenses. All formalities will be taken care of in cooperation between the German National Committee and the Local Committee in question. We compiled a detailed list of profits employer benefit from.

Services of IAESTE

  • Nomination of a suitable candidate according to the desired profile of qualification
  • Support of the applicant with the visa and insurance issues
  • Arrangement of accommodation and assistance to the trainees for their arrival
  • Assistance with authority affairs
  • Preparation of the work and residence permits, tax exemption and other legal requirements
  • Organizing recreational activities to explore and learn about German culture and lifestyle habits

General financial Conditions

The severices offered by IAESTE are completely free of charge and do not involve any obligations. The only cost thereby incurred is the allowance for the intern.

According to an agreement among the IAESTE member countries, the allowance of the intern should cover the trainee's cost of living during the stay in the host country. Currently in Germany a monthly allowance of EUR 670 for living expenses is considered appropriate. If the company receives an economical benefit through the collaboration with the intern (e. g. assignment within production) the allowance should be adjusted to the particular pay scale.

The German Law on Minimum Wage applies to all internships longer than 3 months.

The DAAD provides a health, accident and personal liability insurance for the interns.


If you are convinced by our internship program, and feel compelled by the advantages, we would be glad if you could provide us with a placement submitted through our online form.

English  
IAESTE
Deutschland
flags in front of a building
IAESTE Germany is part of the German Academic Exchange Service
Do, 15. Okt 2015

DAAD Text logo

IAESTE Germany is funded by the Federal Foreign Office
Do, 15. Okt 2015

Logo des auswärtigen Amtes

print

Allgemeine Informationen für Arbeitgeber

Was ist die IAESTE?

Die International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience, kurz IAESTE, ist eine internationale, unpolitische, unabhängige Organisation zur Vermittlung von Praktikumsplätzen im Ausland. Sie wurde 1948 am Imperial College in London gegründet, um zur Förderung der Völkerverständigung beizutragen. Seitdem arbeitet IAESTE erfolgreich mit verschiedenen Organisationen der UN zusammen, u.a. mit der UNESCO, ECOSOC und UNIDO.

Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist seit 1950 Mitglied der Organisation und wird durch das Deutsche Komitee der IAESTE im Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) vertreten. Das Auswärtige Amt unterstützt die IAESTE finanziell. Der Austausch von Praktikanten erfolgt im Einvernehmen mit der Bundesagentur für Arbeit.

Seit der Gründung sind weltweit über 350.000 Praktika in über 85 Länder vermittelt worden, darunter allein 70.000 nach Deutschland. Im Jahre 2016 haben sich etwa 400 deutsche Arbeitgeber mit über 700 Praktikumsangeboten am IAESTE-Programm beteiligt. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den Fachrichtungen der Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften sowie der Land- und Forstwirtschaft. Die IAESTE gibt Studierenden über das weltweite Austauschprogramm die Möglichkeit, unter soliden Rahmenbedingungen internationale Arbeitserfahrung zu sammeln.

Die IAESTE-Praktika sollen den ausländischen Hochschulpraktikanten die Möglichkeit bieten, die während des Grundstudiums erworbenen Kenntnisse in Anwendungsbereichen der Industrie, der Forschung oder der Verwaltung nach den fachlichen Erfordernissen ihres späteren Berufes zu erweitern und zu vertiefen.

Sie als Arbeitgeber haben die Chance

  • neue Ideen und Perspektiven
  • das aktuelle Fachwissen der Studenten
  • den interkulturellen Austausch

zu fördern und für Ihr Unternehmen zu nutzen.
 

Wie funktioniert der Praktikantenaustausch mit IAESTE?

Entscheidet sich ein Unternehmen oder eine Organisation dafür, am Praktikantenaustausch teilzunehmen, so benötigt IAESTE ihr gewünschtes Anforderungsprofil: erwartete Qualifikation(en), zu erfüllende Aufgaben des Praktikanten, Beginn und Dauer des Praktikums und eine Reihe anderer Informationen.

In allen Ländern, die am IAESTE-Programm teilnehmen, werden die eingegangenen Praktikumsangebote gesammelt und auf einer jährlich stattfindenden Konferenz getauscht. Das deutsche Komitee der IAESTE erhält dabei für jeden angebotenen Praktikumsplatz in Deutschland ein Platzangebot für deutsche Studierende, die ein Auslandspraktikum durchführen möchten. Auf diese Weise erhält jedes teilnehmende Land Platzangebote aus dem Ausland, die an qualifizierte und hochmotivierte Studierende vermittelt werden können.

Bei der Vermittlung wird das jeweils vorgegebene Anforderungsprofil selbstverständlich berücksichtigt. IAESTE Deutschland leitet die Bewerbung eines geeigneten ausländischen Kandidaten an den Arbeitgeber in Deutschland weiter. Nach Prüfung der Bewerbungsunterlagen entscheidet der Arbeitgeber, ob der Bewerber für ein Praktikum im Betrieb geeignet ist und teilt dem DAAD seine Entscheidung mit. Der DAAD stellt die notwendigen Dokumente für arbeitserlaubnisfreie Praktikumsaufenthalte in Deutschland aus. Der Student verpflichtet sich durch Gegenzeichnung der Annahmebestätigung zur Annahme des Praktikums.

Die IAESTE stellt alle Dokumente aus, die für die Visaerteilung notwendig sind, schließt eine speziell auf die Bedürfnisse der IAESTE-Praktikanten abgestimmte Kranken-, Unfall- und Haftpflichtversicherung ab und holt eine Bestätigung über das Einvernehmen mit der Bundesagentur für Arbeit ein. IAESTE-Praktika können daher ohne Arbeitserlaubnis durchgeführt werden. Dieser Service ist für Arbeitgeber kostenfrei. Wir haben eine ausführliche Übersicht der damit verbundenen Vorteile für Sie als Arbeitgeber zusammengestellt.

Aufgaben der IAESTE

  • Nominierung eines geeigneten Kandidaten anhand des Anforderungsprofils
  • Unterstützung der Bewerber in Visumsfragen
  • Vermittlung einer geeigneten Unterkunft und Hilfestellung bei der Planung der Anreise
  • Begleitung bei Behördengängen
  • Freizeitbetreuung zur Vermittlung der deutschen Kultur und Lebensgewohnheiten

 

Finanzielle Rahmenbedingungen

Der Vermittlungsservice durch das Deutsche Komitee der IAESTE ist für Arbeitgeber in Deutschland kostenfrei. Es fallen lediglich Kosten für die Vergütung der Praktikantentätigkeit an.

Entsprechend den IAESTE-Statuten muss die Vergütung der Praktikanten mindestens die Lebenshaltungskosten auf studentischem Niveau während des Aufenthalts im Gastland decken.

In Deutschland haben Praktikanten Anspruch auf Zahlung des gesetzlichen Mindestlohns. Ausgenommen sind Pflichtpraktika und Praktika mit einer Laufzeit von maximal drei Monaten. Gegenwärtig wird in Deutschland eine Vergütung von EUR 670 monatlich für den Lebensunterhalt als angemessen gehalten, angelehnt an den BAföG-Höchstbetrag.

Sollten wir Sie von unserem Austauschprogramm überzeugt haben, und Ihnen und Ihrer Firma die Vorteile zusagen, würden wir uns freuen, wenn Sie uns einen Praktikumsplatz zur Verfügung stellen und ein Angebot online abgeben würden.